Unionville
Unionville Center was originally founded as Unionville. The name was changed upon application for a post office as there was already a Unionville in Ohio.
Unionville Center
This village was called Unionville in its earliest days. The town was built upon land originally owned by Benjamin Cutler. Mr. Cutler built a house on the site years before the organization of Unionville. He also maintained a small country store. The Darby Seceder Church was formed in the area in 1824. It would later be known as the Unionville United Presbyterian Church. Around 1835 this congregation built their first church building. This building was used until a larger building was built between 1856 to 1857. John and Frederick Sager built a saw mill on Big Darby Creek, near the village site, in 1835. The village was platted on February 8, 1847 by Union County Surveyor, William B. Irwin, originally containing 15 lots and 2 streets. On May 11, 1852 Charles Warren Fairbanks was born near Unionville Center. He would later become the Vice President of the United States, serving under Theodore Roosevelt. The Fairbanks Local School District would later be named to honor this man. The Methodist Church at Unionville, first organized in the 1820s, built a church building in the village between 1856 and 1858. The village was officially recognized on March 3, 1879 by the county government, with the official name being Unionville Center. Upon its organization, there were over 200 residents of the village. The first village elections were held in 1879, with F. N. Mattoon elected first mayor. This town once supported a tannery, two sawmills, a flour mill, a school, and a tile factory.
The Darby Rural School District was chartered in 1915. A substantial brick building was built by this district in 1925. The school district was consolidated with the Chuckery School district in 1937. This district was known as Chuckery-Darby School, and it was eventually consolidated into the Fairbanks Local School District.
Unionville Station
Unionville was often referred to as Unionville Station due to its location on the railroad.
Monday, March 5, 2012
Today in History - March 5
On this day in 1836, Samuel Colt make his first production model revolver.
On this day in 1872, George Westinghouse patented an air brake.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1885, George McCloud bought a new driving horse at the stock sales in Marysville.
On this day in 1872, George Westinghouse patented an air brake.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1885, George McCloud bought a new driving horse at the stock sales in Marysville.
Sunday, March 4, 2012
Today in History - March 4
On this day in 1628, the Massachusetts BAy Colony received a charter from England.
On this day in 1681, William Penn received a charter for his colony, Pennsylvania.
On this day in 1917, Jeannette Rankin became the first woman elected to the US House of Representatives. She was elected to represent Montana.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1887, Mr. and Mrs. Anson Smith recently had a baby boy.
On this day in 1681, William Penn received a charter for his colony, Pennsylvania.
On this day in 1917, Jeannette Rankin became the first woman elected to the US House of Representatives. She was elected to represent Montana.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1887, Mr. and Mrs. Anson Smith recently had a baby boy.
Saturday, March 3, 2012
Today in History - March 3
On this day in 1820, the Missouri Compromise was passed by the US Congress. This Compromise prevented slavery in the area of the former Louisiana Territory except within the proposed boundaries of Missouri.
On this day in 1845, Florida became the 27th state admitted to the Union.
On this day in 1923, TIME magazine was first published.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1893, Ben Homasher moved onto the Paris farm.
On this day in 1845, Florida became the 27th state admitted to the Union.
On this day in 1923, TIME magazine was first published.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1893, Ben Homasher moved onto the Paris farm.
Friday, March 2, 2012
Today in History - March 2
On this day in 1807, the US Congress bans the importation of new slaves into the United States.
On this day in 1836, Texas declared its independence from Mexico.
On this day in 1962, Wilt Chamberlain set an NBA scoring record by scoring 100 points in a single game.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1893, John Rausch moved onto Merton Smith's farm.
On this day in 1836, Texas declared its independence from Mexico.
On this day in 1962, Wilt Chamberlain set an NBA scoring record by scoring 100 points in a single game.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1893, John Rausch moved onto Merton Smith's farm.
Thursday, March 1, 2012
Allen Center, Union County, Ohio
Allen Center's first business was an ashery, a few years prior to Joel Eaton's purchase of five acres of land between 1848-49. This tract of land was platted into a few lots that would comprise the town. A US post office was was established in February of 1851, and Reuben Foote was the postmaster. The Allen Center Baptist Church was formed in 1854. The congregation built a frame church building in 1872. The church congregation still exists today. Barnet Bennet established a general store in a room of his two story house in 1862. He sold his business to Jacob Painter by about 1865, who eventually sold out all his store stock by 1875. The post office ceased operation at the start of the Civil War. In 1863, the Allen Center Protestant Methodist Church was organized. The congregation also built a small log building for worship in the same year. By 1875 the congregation was disbanded, and the church property was sold. Today the Allen Center Baptist Church remains in the community. The village is also home to the Allen Township Hall.
The first school session held in Allen Township was probably held in the winter of 1829-1830. This school session was taught by Wilson Reed in an abandoned cabin near Buck Run in the southeastern part of the township. By 1883 there were ten sub districts in Allen Township, each being held in a one room schoolhouse. These schools were Henpeck, Stringtown, Greenwood, Railroad, Little Red Schoolhouse, Buck Run, Allen Center, Connolly, Pottersburg, and one Unknown.
In 1924 the Allen Township Rural School district was chartered. The building that housed this school was erected in Allen Center in 1912. This school district became a part of the Marysville School District in 1949.
The first school session held in Allen Township was probably held in the winter of 1829-1830. This school session was taught by Wilson Reed in an abandoned cabin near Buck Run in the southeastern part of the township. By 1883 there were ten sub districts in Allen Township, each being held in a one room schoolhouse. These schools were Henpeck, Stringtown, Greenwood, Railroad, Little Red Schoolhouse, Buck Run, Allen Center, Connolly, Pottersburg, and one Unknown.
In 1924 the Allen Township Rural School district was chartered. The building that housed this school was erected in Allen Center in 1912. This school district became a part of the Marysville School District in 1949.
Today in History - March 1
On this day in 1565, Rio de Janeiro was founded.
On this day in 1692, the Salem Witch Trials began with the trial of Sarah Good, Sarah Osborne, and Tituba.
On this day in 1790, the first United States Census was approved.
On this day in 1845, the United States annexed the Republic of Texas.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1887, the Issac Temple Family welcomed a baby girl into their family.
On this day in 1692, the Salem Witch Trials began with the trial of Sarah Good, Sarah Osborne, and Tituba.
On this day in 1790, the first United States Census was approved.
On this day in 1845, the United States annexed the Republic of Texas.
And, in Chuckery, Ohio in 1887, the Issac Temple Family welcomed a baby girl into their family.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)
